The Eight Limbs of Yoga are:

  1. Yama: five ethical ways to live (nonviolence, truthfulness, non-stealing, continence and non-covetousness)
  2. Niyama: five spiritual observances (cleanliness, contentment, spiritual austerities, study of scriptures and surrender to God)
  3. Asana:  postures that help the body internally cleanse itself
  4. Pranayama:  control of the breath and the movement of life energies
  5. Pratyahara: withdrawing of the senses
  6. Dharana: concentration
  7. Dhyana: meditation or contemplation and quietude of the mind
  8. Samadhi: union with the Divine through transcendence

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>